The Five Best Books I Read in 2017

The 5 Best Books I Read in 2017 Last year was a great year for reading.  Even if I fell short of my goal for number of books read, the quality of books was excellent and a few of them were pretty massive in length so I think it evens out.  I am still working Read more about The Five Best Books I Read in 2017[…]

Weekend Reading Links 11/10/17

After a week off to carve pumpkins, take kids treat-or-treating, and to go see Thor: Ragnorak, the links are back.  It has been a productive and enlightening couple of weeks with a lot of interesting things to read, but before I begin I want to share an excerpt from the book I am reading, Titan: Read more about Weekend Reading Links 11/10/17[…]

Weekend Reading Links 12/10/16

Here are a few of the stories and articles that I found most interesting this week. Energy Magnetically floating twisting ball of million-degree burning hot plasma anyone?  This is another possible sustainable energy solution to keep an eye on.  From the website Science Alert    Investment Round table of great investment advice from some of the pros.  Worth Read more about Weekend Reading Links 12/10/16[…]

Weekend Reading Links 12/3/16

Here are links to some of the best stories I’ve read this week.  Spend some time at your favorite coffee shop this weekend and get caught up on the world.   Artificial Intelligence: A quick hitter on where we are on the Artificial Intelligence Apocalypse timeline.   Books: Speaking of Artificial Intelligence if you want Read more about Weekend Reading Links 12/3/16[…]

Investing 101 – The Five Best Books for Beginning Investors

It was once said to me that if you read five books on any given topic, you will know more than 95% of the population on that topic.  I am not sure where that statistic comes from or if there is any accuracy to the claim, but I like it either way.  However, with so many options out there to choose from, how do you determine where to get good relevant information.  […]

The Single Best Investment For Beginners

Being in the money management profession, here is a conversation that I have on a not-infrequent basis.

Friend – “Keith, what is the best investment I can make right now?”

Me – “Books”

Friend – “What, like Amazon.com or Barnes & Noble stock or something?

Me – “No, like the books you read.”

Friend (now with confused look on face) – “Books on investing?”

Me – “If that’s what your interested in, sure.” […]

The Robber Barons

Currently Reading: The Robber Barons by Matthew Josephson Best For: Fans of Rockefeller, Carnegie, Gould, and the other larger-than life industrialists and financiers who helped built the modern American economy.  Fans of American economic history will enjoy the details of this book.  Also, it is one of the most quoted books from the more contemporary Read more about The Robber Barons[…]