The Geometry of Wealth

  Currently Reading:  The Geometry of Wealth by Brian Portnoy Best For:  People interested in personal finance – either for themselves or as a profession. Favorite Quote:  “…If there were a reliable relationship between greater risk and bigger rewards, then technically you wouldn’t be taking more risk.” Notes: I hesitated jumping into this book at first Read more about The Geometry of Wealth[…]

Behave

Currently Reading: Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst by Robert M. Sapolsky

Best For: Dedicated readers who have an interest in neuro-science.  This 700 page beast gets into the gritty basics of what cause people to act the way they do.  Basic brain function, hormones (surprise! Testosterone does not cause aggression.   And, estrogen is actually a cocktail of several different hormones… who knew!?), and sensory function. […]

The Square and the Tower

Currently Reading:  The Square and the Tower: Networks and Power from the Freemasons to Facebook by Niall Ferguson Best For: Anyone interested in strategy and power.  Especially people who like to hear about popular historical episodes from different perspectives. Favorite Quote: On Ben Bernanke and the Federal Reserve response to the Great Financial Crisis “By Read more about The Square and the Tower[…]

The Robber Barons

Currently Reading: The Robber Barons by Matthew Josephson Best For: Fans of Rockefeller, Carnegie, Gould, and the other larger-than life industrialists and financiers who helped built the modern American economy.  Fans of American economic history will enjoy the details of this book.  Also, it is one of the most quoted books from the more contemporary Read more about The Robber Barons[…]

The House of Morgan

Currently Reading: The House of Morgan: An American Banking Dynasty and the Rise of Modern Finance Great Quote: “In the history books, Pierpont’s epigrammatic sayings stand out.  In the transcript of the Pujo hearings, however, they appear against an arid backdrop of denials and monosyllabic grunts, as if he wouldn’t concede the hearing’s legitimacy.  Stamping Read more about The House of Morgan[…]